In order to address a range of forestry and related issues across the Northeast, Midwest, and Mid-Atlantic, NMSFA has established eight committees comprised of experts from state forestry agencies, USDA Forest Service, and other federal and non-govenrmental partners. Each year, a Chair is elected from one of the states to lead his/her committee for a one-year term. Additionally, committees each have a State Forester Advisor who provides ongoing guidance and a link between the committee and the State Foresters and who typically serves for several years. 
Cooperative Forest Management Committee

Forest Fire Supervisors Committee

Forest Health Committee

Forest Legacy Committee

Forest Resource Planning Committee

Forest Markets & Utilization Committee

Public Land Management Committee

Urban and Community Forestry Committee