About Us

Northeast-Midwest State Foresters Alliance

NMSFA members include the state forestry agencies in the 20 New England, Mid-Atlantic, and Midwest states, as well as the District of Columbia. State forestry agencies are responsible for a variety of activities, including:
  • Managing forest land and related natural resources
  • Informing and assisting the public, forest landowners, and natural resource groups
  • Monitoring forest health and condition
  • Serving as implementers of state and federal forestry programs
  • Ensuring regulatory compliance
  • Informing development and implemention of forest policies 

Forests and the benefits they offer often cross boundaries and political jurisdictions. When states cooperate with one another, federal agencies, conservation groups, and interested citizens, such collective and cooperative efforts benefit more people and improve forests locally and across the region.